Please be aware that our email system is currently down. If you need to reach us please get in touch by phone on 01736 753472.

  • Contact Us

Chris Coyle-Chislett

Email the Office

Telephone Number
01736 753472

Follow us on Twitter

Our Address
2 St George’s Road, Hayle,
Cornwall, TR27 4AH

“Penpol pupils are curious, creative and courageous learners. Our school community believes in authenticity as the foundations of deep-rooted learning. Through our rich and relevant curriculum, we nurture community-minded, forward-facing international citizens of the future.”

Governors at Penpol School

The governors of the school are required to focus upon three strategic areas and hold our headteacher to account.

  • The ethos and strategic direction of the school.
  • The educational performance of the school and its pupils.
  • The financial performance of the school.

Our governing body has representatives from the staff, parents, the local authority and various sectors of the wider community, bringing a wide range of skills and experience

We are all very proud to play our part in supporting the school and our students. We want each child to feel safe and to enjoy their time at Penpol. It is our firm commitment that every child receives the provision they deserve in order to achieve the best possible outcomes on both their academic and personal journeys.

Chair of Governors

Meet Our Governors

Chris Coyle-Chislett: Headteacher

Staff Governor | Governor since 14.4.2018

Chairs Committee
Finance + Premises Committee
Staffing Committee

Rachel Woodhead: Chair of Governors

Responsible For: Whistleblowing and Safeguarding

Co-opted Governor | Governor Term: 4.10.2021 - 3.10.2025

Chairs Committee
Second Committee
Headteacher Pay + Performance Committee

Madeleine Bennett: Vice-Chair of Governors

Co-opted Governor | Governor Term: 4.10.2021 - 3.10.2025

First Committee

Laura Valance: Vice-Chair of Governors

Local Authority (LA) Governor | Governor Term: 6.12.2021 - 6.12.2025

Second Committee

Nic Stanlake

Responsible For: Health and Safety

Staff Governor | Governor Term: 1.9.2018 - 31.8.2022

Staffing Committee

Mike Dale

Parent Governor | Governor Term: 4.10.2021 - 3.10.2025

Second Committee

Jaco Coetzee

Parent Governor | Governor Term:


Mark Harvey

Co-opted Governor | Governor Term:


Leslie Brewer

Co-opted Governor | Governor Term:


Tiffany Pope

Associate Member | Governor Term: 1.9.2019 - 30.8.2023

Linda Cackett

Clerk to the Governors

Clerk since 2023

Related Documents
Other Links

Instrument of Government

Governors Handbook 2017

This page was last updated 13 hours ago